Copenhagen Saxophone Quartet (CSQ) is one of Denmark’s most recognized ensembles in the field of classical chamber music. Since the debut in 1998, the quartet has toured both Europe and The United States and has also taken part in an official state visit to Slovenia with the Danish Royal family.

Besides playing music from the wide repertoire written for saxophone quartet which is still evolving, CSQ features music of the baroque era by A. & D. Scarlatti, Johann Sebastian Bach and Arcangelo Corelli, but also contemporary music by composers such as Iannis Xenakis, Franco Donatoni and Per Nørgård has a special interest of the ensemble.

CSQ actively works to commission and perform new music from contemporary

composers. This effort has resulted in numerous pieces dedicated especially to the quartet.

 “The Copenhagen Saxophone Quartet brought a remarkably varied program of music to it’s concert at the Corcoran Gallery Sunday and played it with style, energy and sensitivity….CSQ played with unabashed sensuousness”   (The Washington Post )


The musicians of CSQ
Soprano saxophone: Torben Snekkestad
Alto saxophone: Maret Petersen
Tenor saxophone: Jeanette Balland
Baritone saxophone: Charlotte H. Andersson