Festival Composers

HK Gruber (1943)

Composer, conductor and chansonnier, HK Gruber was born in Vienna in 1943 and sang with the Vienna Boys’ Choir as a child, going on to study at the Vienna Hochschule für Musik. In 1961 he began playing double bass with ensemble die reihe and from 1969 to 1998 he played in the Radio Symphonieorchester Wien. Gruber first began performing as a singer/actor with the ‘MOB art and tone ART’ ensemble, a group he co-founded in 1968 with fellow Viennese composers Kurt Schwertsik and Otto Zykan. Composing in his own highly individual style, he is one of the most well-loved figures in contemporary music and his music is performed by the world’s leading artists and orchestras. Gruber was awarded Austria’s most prestigious cultural prize, the 2002 Greater Austria State Prize (Groβer Österreichischer Staatspreis) and in 2009 was announced as an Honorary Member of the Wiener Konzerthaus, following a great tradition of musicians to also receive this accolade, including Igor Stravinsky, Pierre Boulez, Leonard Bernstein and Claudio Abbado.

Erik Satie (1866-1925)

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Malmö Compositions

At Malmö Chamber Music will be premiered two works by two Malmö Composers, Three Autumns by Staffan Storm and En liten blåsa i Guds andes glas of Tobias Broström.

Staffan Storm (1964)

Staffan Storm was born 1964 in Karlskrona, Sweden. He studied musicology and history at Lund University 1983-86. 1986-92 he studied composition at Malmö Academy of Music. Storm has also participated in several international master classes, for example at Centre Acanthes, Avignon and at Internationalen Ferienkursen für Neue Musik, Darmstadt.

In Staffan Storm’s list of works one finds everything from solo pieces, works for chamber ensembles in different constellations to orchestral pieces and electro acoustic music. During later years vocal music has become a central interest.

Among choral pieces that can be mentioned are “A Vision” for Ensemble Syd, ”Schwarze Visionen” for Eric Ericsons Kammarkör, ”..within a Dream” for Vokalharmonin and ”Nachtschatten” written for the 90-year jubilee 2015 of the Swedish Radio Choir. Among other musicians Storm has collaborated with recently the pianists Francisca Skoogh and Hans Pålsson can be mentioned as well as the contralto Anna Larsson and most lately Håkan Hardenberger, in the new piece ”Three Autumns” for trumpet and piano.

2016 Staffan Storm was awarded the Saltö-Järnåkerfoundation composition prize, 100 000 Skr, for the organ piece ”…et lux in tenebris lucet…”.

Since 1993 he has been teaching at Malmö Academy of Music in music theory, music history, analysis and composition. He has also been both deputy director (2006-11) and director (2011-13) of Malmö Academy of Music. Since then he has been the Pro-Dean of the Faculty of Fine and Performing Arts at Lund University.

Tobias Brostöm (1978)

Tobias Broström was born in 1978 in Helsingborg, Sweden. Following four years of percussion studies at the Malmö Academy of Music, he embarked on the pursuit of a Master’s degree in composition, studying with the Swedish composer Rolf Martinsson and the Italian composer Luca Francesconi.

Broström has composed chamber opera and various chamber music, but during the last years he has mainly focused on orchestral writing in works such as La Danse, Transit Underground, Kaléidoscope, Piano Concerto – Belle Epoque, Samsara and Lucernaris – Concerto for Trumpet, Live Electronics & Orchestra, which was composed for Håkan Hardenberger. Numerous soloists, conductors, ensembles and orchestras, including Robin Ticciati, John Storgårds, Anna Larsson, Andrew Manze, Per Tengstrand, Colin Currie, Mats Rondin, Tõnu Kaljuste, Jaime Martín, BBC Symphony, Detroit Symphony, Dresdner Philharmonie, BBC Philharmonic, Komische Oper Berlin, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Trondheim SO, Malmö SO, Brooklyn Rider, Musica Vitae and Gageego have performed his works. Tobias’ music have been performed throughout Europe, the USA and Asia.

Between 2006 – 2009 Tobias was Composer-in-Residence with the Gävle Symphony Orchestra under principal conductor Robin Ticciati, resulting in two new orchestral works each year. Two of these, Crimson Seas & Lucernaris were selected by Swedish Radio to represent Sweden in the European Broadcasting Union’s International Rostrum of Composers in 2007 & 2009. In autumn 2008 his Arena – Solo Version was picked out to be performed at the 52nd International Festival of Contemporary Music at the Venice Biennale and his orchestral piece Transit Underground was nominated for best orchestral piece of the year by Swedish Music Publishers’ Association.